Hello there, my name is Morgan Fenrick, I am 16 years old and live in Waxhaw, North
Carolina.  To understand how I became the rider am I today (good or bad!), you need to understand a few things about me.  First, I’m in a military family.  My father, now retired, was in the 5th Special Forces Group and was deployed overseas numerous times before retiring a few years ago.  Secondly, wherever we’d move, I would typically go along with the popular discipline in that region, giving me experience in a variety of disciplines.

white pony-w500-h500
Morgan and Smoke

Ever since I can remember I have wanted horses.  One of my earliest memories, that I vividly remember, was at my kindergarten graduation.  We wore black garbage bags and paper hats as our caps and gowns, this was at Wesley Chapel Elementary.  Towards the end, we had to stand in front of all the parents and other kids and say what we were thankful for.  Other kids said normal kid stuff like their dogs, toys and parents, but not me.  I said “I would like to thank my parents for the pony I’m going to get”.  All the other parents laughed, most likely thinking I was joking, that I didn’t have a year’s worth of Young Riders posters all over my walls.  Shortly after graduation, we moved to Ft. Campbell, Kentucky.

jorden and morg-w500-h500
Jorden on Dee and Morgan on Danny

It was fantastic, we were in the ‘Horse Capital of the World’ – six year old me didn’t really realize that Lexington, KY was still hours away.  My pleas for a pony grew stronger than ever.  My poor mother probably thought my longing was just a phase every little girl goes through, unfortunately I was completely hooked at my first lesson.  The first horse I ever rode was a young barrel horse named Shady that bucked me off on the second lesson, but

it was thrilling.  I spent so much time talking about ‘riding-this’ and ‘horses-that’, that one of my older brothers, Jorden, also starting taking lessons.  Finally, I got my own horse, a 12 year old TN Walking Horse, Danny.  It seemed like Jorden and me against the World: him in the English world with his 90 days gelded OTTB, Manny, and I, in the Western world, just chilling with my ex-field trialer, Danny.  For the next few years Jorden and I did these two disciples around Ft. Campbell – Eventing and Barrel Racing.

Morgan and Danny

At 15, Jorden became a working student for the famous and fabulous Jim Graham in Alabama and I joined Pony Club, evented at local shows and continued running barrels with my crazy Walker, Danny.  Then we moved to Ft. Sam Houston, right outside of San Antonio, Texas.  I bet you can guess who thrived there.  I continued with my barrel racing and dabbled in stock horse shows, while Jorden competed on two OTTBs (Manny and Dee) in Young Riders events around the SOUTH.  After about a year, we moved back to Ft. Campbell in Kentucky.  That’s when I got more serious about the western world. 

FloraLea 1-w500-h500
Morgan and Red

We bought two younger Quarter-Arabs who became my ‘speedy go-tos’ and a full-Arabian, “Moose”, who went to one of my older brothers, William.  Will, a high-functioning autistic, and Moose have a wonderful bond and they’ve both learned a lot.  On one of my Quarter-Arabs, a mare named Ginger, I qualified for the Tennessee State Horse Show in barrels, pole-bending, one-barrel speed, figure-8 and flags.

After Kentucky, round-two, we were moved to Ft. Dix, New Jersey.  We downsized to a still very big number of eight horse.  I continued with barrels and gymkhana in the Garden State for about a year.  There I won Jr. Grand Champion in both Western and English gaming events for the region on my other Quarter-Arab named Elvis.

FloraLea 2-w500-h500
Morgan and Red

As the rest of South New Jersey was mostly either Hunter/Jumper or Eventing, I went back to eventing.  We purchased a 4 year old Thoroughbred named More to Love, “Red”, that had been a USEA Young Event Horse participant.  Red and I have competed for the last 2 ½ years.  We’ve participated in Dressage shows, Combined Tests and Horse Trials.  We have competed in several events in Virginia, Pennsylvania and all over New Jersey.  During the summer of 2015, we moved back to Waxhaw and we joined a barn that I think reflects my equine knowledge, 3-D Horsemanship.  3-D does everything from Classical Dressage to Stockhorses and Irish Sport Horses – all while having fun.  I am excited to see what this upcoming show season brings.

Godspeed, Morgan and More to Love