Columbus, North Carolina:  Nominations for the 2018 Tryon Riding and Hunt Club Carolinas Show Hunter Hall of Fame (CSHHF) are open now and close February 15, 2018. This marks the second year of honoring those extraordinary horses, ponies and horsemen with ties to North and South Carolina. One must be a member of the CSHHF in order to nominate horses, ponies and horsemen for consideration.  Supporters who wish to nominate horses, ponies and/or horsemen must complete and submit a nomination form. 

TRHC Pic 12017 Recipients (left to right) – Kelly Kocher for Joey Darby, Jeanne Smith for Gordon Wright, Danny Robertshaw, Betty Oare, Vick Russell, Jack Towell, Gerald Pack. (second row) – Joann Loheac, Committee Chair (left) and Caroline Clark for Kathryn G. Clark (right). (third row) – Liza Boyd Photo credit: Erik Olsen

A Committee will review the nominations and verify if the horses/people meet the CSHHF criteria.  Up to five horses and four individuals will be nominated annually, and up to three horses and two people will be inducted annually.  Ballots will become available to all current year CSHHF supporters for voting on March 15, 2018, and voting closes on April 15, 2018.  Ballots must be received by April 15, 2018.  The induction ceremony will be held in early June (specific date will soon be confirmed).

The 2017 Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony was held on June 9 at the Legends Club at the Tryon International Equestrian Center (TIEC). Complete Listing of 2017 CSHHF Inductees.

“The Hall of Fame ironically had a casual inception,” offers committee chair Joann Loheac.  “Seasoned horsemen Gerald Pack of Columbus, NC, and Jack Towell of Camden, SC, happened to see each other while dining in a nearby restaurant at the end of 2016.  They began reminiscing about all the great show hunters and horsemen from the Tryon area that subsequently became an extensive list of famous horses and individuals from the Carolinas.”   Gerald contacted Joann, both serving as directors on the Tryon Riding and Hunt Club (TRHC) board, about the possibility of establishing a hall of fame in an effort to not only recognize but more formally preserve these individuals through TRHC’s historic and equestrian centered organization.  "The CSHHF is a wonderful new addition to the programs we produce at the Tryon Riding and Hunt Club", says Drew Brannon, President of TRHC.  "It pays homage to the rich heritage of the local equestrian community and offers the opportunity to recognize the efforts of the wonderful people and horses that have competed here.  I'm really looking forward to seeing the class of 2018!"

TRHC pic 2

Martha Hall (left) and Liza Boyd (right) Photo credit:  Erik Olsen

For more information on membership and/or sponsorship of the Carolinas Show Hunter Hall of Fame, please visit,


Founded in 2017, the purpose of the Carolinas Show Hunter Hall of Fame is to recognize and celebrate exceptional show hunters and horsemen in both North and South Carolina.